Home Call For Papers Committees Program
Submission Author Kit Registration Venue

Call For Papers

In conjunction with the 15th IEEE International Conference on Network Protocols
Beijing, CHINA, October 16-19, 2007


The 3rd workshop on Secure Network Protocols (NPSec) is a one-day event held in conjunction with ICNP 2007. NPSec focuses on two general areas. The first focus is on the development and analysis of secure or hardened protocols for the operation (establishment and maintenance) of network infrastructure, including such targets as secure multidomain, ad hoc, sensor or overlay networks, or other related target areas. This can include new protocols, enhancements to existing protocols, protocol analysis, and new attacks on existing protocols. The second focus is on employing such secure network protocols to create or enhance network applications. Examples include collaborative firewalls, incentive strategies for multiparty networks, and deployment strategies to enable secure applications.


  • secure and/or resilient network protocols, e.g.:
      - internetworking/routing
      - MANETs
      - LANs and WLANs
      - mobile/cellular data networks
      - p2p and other overlay networks
      - federated trust systems
      - sensor networks
  • vulnerabilities of existing protocols and applications (both theoretical and case studies), including attacks
  • key distribution/management
  • intrusion detection and response
  • incentive systems for p2p systems and MANETs routing
  • secure protocol configuration and deployment


Paper submission: June 1, 2007
Notification of acceptance: June 29, 2007
Camera ready version: August 15, 2007


  • Xing Li, Tsinghua University, China
  • Cristina Nita-Rotaru, Purdue University, USA


  • Jelena Mirkovic, University of Delaware, USA


  • David Zage, Purdue University, USA


    • Ehab Al-Shaer, DePaul University
    • Bogdan Carbunar, Motorola Labs
    • Sungdeok Cha, Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology
    • Joseph Evans, University of Kansas
    • Mohamed Gouda, University of Texas at Austin
    • Duan Haixin, Tsinghua University
    • Gong Jian, South East University of China
    • Aggelos Kiayias, University of Connecticut
    • Iordanis Koutsopoulos, University of Thessaly
    • Aleksandar Kuzmanovic, Northwestern University
    • David Lee, Ohio State
    • Dan Massey, Colorado State University
    • Breno de Medeiros, Florida State University
    • Jelena Mirkovic, University of Delaware
    • Vasileios Pappas, IBM Research T.J. Watson
    • Sanjay Rao, Purdue University
    • Andreas Terzis, Johns Hopkins University
    • Xiaowei Yang, UC Irvine
    • Brent Waters, SRI
    • Nick Weaver, ICSI / UC Berkeley
    • Felix Wu, University of California at Davis

    Contact: Conference Organizer